Glossary SSP

Looking for a definition of an SSP term? You’ve come to the right place.

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Ad Formats - the types of ads that can be displayed in your application. Verizon Media offers these ad formats: Interstitial, Display Banners (Top of Page and Below the Fold) and Rectangle. We also offer Video ad units (Pre-Roll, Rewarded, Interstitial), In-Banner Video (Lightbox), and Native.

Ad Gallery - a collection of all the creatives that were previously uploaded to campaigns. These creatives can be reused for any future campaigns. You can also load creatives directly into the Ad Gallery at any time. Note, when edits are made to creatives in your Ad Gallery, these edits will not be applied to creatives already running in campaigns. The Ad Gallery is located in the Creatives tab in the Advertise section of SSP.

Ad Placement Identifier (APID) - the ad placement identifier is utilized in several environments of a monetization experience to connect a user's ad request with our platform.

Ads Rendered - the numbers of ads that are recorded as viewable to your users.

Ads Rendered (Delivered) - An ad that has been viewed by the end user. An ad may have been requested and delivered but is only considered rendered when actually displayed to the user.

Ad Response (Served) - An ad that has been sent to a user’s device in response to an ad request. These ads may or may not be viewed by the user (rendered). Responding to ad requests and delivering ads prior to the actual display time decreases delays in the user’s experience.

Ad Requests - occur when an ad placement within your site or application requests an ad from the server.

Application Tracking - the ability to track how many of your views and clicks result in a download of your app. To utilize this feature, an advertiser must register the app with the Monetize side the SSP.

Attribution - The ability to match actions back to a specific device. We use attribution for cross-screen (to be able to identify users across different devices) and to identify behaviors of our users.

Average Clear Price - the average price that an impression sold for calculated per 1,000 winning impressions following completed auctions (clears) for bid requests.


Banner - A type of ad format that appears at the top of the page or below the fold in your application. Display banners can be static, animated or expandable.

Bid - the price point a bidder proposes in an auction to win a bid request.

Bid Price - The value that an advertiser is willing to pay to deliver an impression to the user on a per click or per thousand impression basis. A bid price may be above or below the price a publisher is willing to sell their traffic. On Exchanges, multiple bids can be offered for an impression or a click at the same time.

Bid Rate - The percentage of time a bidder responds to a bid request in an effort to deliver an impression expressed as a percentage.

Bid Request - The number of times your app or site requested a bid from bidders in the marketplace.

Bids Received - The number of times an ad seller bid on your inventory.


Campaign - A collection of budget, time, and creative assets that are delivered across our platform by an advertiser in order to reach users on our hosted inventory. Advertisers operate campaigns with us in order to deliver a message, product, and/or service.

Campaign Category - A category selection that allows the SSPto serve your mobile ads on the most relevant and appropriate sites and apps on our platform.

Campaign Status -

  • Pending - a campaign has been submitted and is under review.
  • Scheduled - a campaign is approved and will start on the date specified.
  • Running - The campaign is delivering on the SSP platform.
  • Paused - Temporarily stopping a campaign and no ads are being displayed.
  • Completed - The campaign has spent its allocated budget and reached its end date.
  • Completed* - The campaign has reached its end date, but did not deliver its full budget. You may extend the end date of your campaign to spend the total budget, or terminate the campaign and return your remaining budget to your Funds.
  • Terminated - You may request to stop your campaign at any time and have any unspent budget returned to your Funds. Once a campaign is terminated, it cannot be restarted.
  • Denied - The campaign does not abide by the Terms & Conditions set forth by Verizon Media, and will not be allowed to run in its current state.

Click - an action denoted by the number of times a mobile device user physically selects your mobile ad; an action tallied when a user physically touches your ad. Only one click is counted per ad.

Completion Rate - the ratio of completed ad views against impressions delivered to the users. Example: if 10,000 ads are delivered but only 500 of them are watched to completion the complete rate is 0.05%.

Connection Type Targeting - Advertisers can choose to target all connection types, only mobile carriers, or only WiFi carriers.

CPA (Cost per Action) - type of campaign where the advertiser pays based on a user taking some specifically defined action in response to an ad. Examples of actions include completing a sales transaction or filling out a form.

CPC (Cost per Click) - the amount of money an advertiser pays each time a user clicks on an ad. CPC campaigns are generally utilized by premium performance advertisers.

CPCV (Cost Per Completed View) - a metric relative to a single user. The amount of money an advertiser is willing to pay for a user watching an entire video ad. Example: a delivered 30 sec video ad is paid at $3 when it reaches the viewer, but if the entire ad is watched to completion the advertiser is willing to pay $10.

CPI (Cost per Install) - cost of advertising based on a user downloading an application.

CPM (Cost per Mille, Cost per Thousand) - Cost of advertising per thousand impressions or ads served. CPM campaigns are typically utilized by premium brand advertisers.

Creative - An advertisement, which displays within content on an application or site on a mobile device. These ads may include animations or embedded URLs.

CTR (Click-through Rate) - The measurement of a user clicking on an advertisement calculated by taking the number of clicks the ad received, divided by the number of impressions – typically expressed as a percentage. This metric is used to measure the effectiveness of a mobile advertising campaign. CTR is calculated by dividing the number of users who clicked on an ad by the number of impressions. Example: 5 clicks / 500 impressions = .01 x 100 = 1% CTR. This is an important performance metric and your goal should be to have a legitimate CTR of more than 1%.


Daily Budget - Amount of your total budget that the campaign will attempt to spend each day, until the total budget is spent or the campaign end date is reached. Note: Service day concludes at 11:59 pm GMT. By electing to start a campaign on the same day as setup, the daily budget may not be met depending on how much time is left in the day.

DSP (Demand Side Platform) - A demand-side platform is a piece of software used to purchase advertising in an automated fashion. This platform enables advertisers to purchase impressions and audience across multiple ad exchanges and inventory sources. DSPs are most often used by advertisers and agencies to help them buy display, video, mobile and search ads.

Delivery Method - how to deliver an ad campaign; deliver the impressions spread out evenly over time or as quickly as possible until the frequency cap has been met.

Demographic Targeting - Targeting based on demographic information such as age, gender, and income. This information may come from registration data or an inference-based mechanism.

Destination URL - Serves as the web address, specified by the advertiser, where the user will be taken when an ad is clicked.

Device ID - IDs unique to each device that can be used for targeting. Examples include: IFA (Apple’s iOS Identifier for Advertising) and Ad ID (Google’s Android advertising identifier). Another type of identifier data is from a 3rd party data partner, AdTruth, which provides a universal identifier based on a probabilistic algorithm for both mobile web and app.

Device Type Targeting - The ability to target certain types of devices such as smartphones, feature phones, connected devices or tablets.


eCPM (Effective Cost per Thousand) - The actual cost per thousand impressions garnered, calculated by dividing total revenue by the total number of impressions in thousands. For example, you earned $500 from 50,000 impressions. That would be ($500/50,000) = .01 x 1000 = $10 eCPM. This metric is used to reflect earnings, regardless of the campaign type mix (CPM, CPC, CPA, etc.).

Expandable Ads - A display banner ad that expands to a full page ad when a user clicks it.


Fill Rate - A metric used to represent the total percent of ad requests you make to our ad platform that result in an ad being displayed to your users.

Frequency Capping - the number of times an impression is allowed to run per day, week or month.


Hyper-Local Targeting - targeting any location worldwide within a specified Centroid or Polygon area.


Impression - An impression is generated every time an end-user views an ad.

Inline Ads - Ad units that appear inline with other app content. Inline Ads are often found at the top or bottom of as creen while reading articles and searching through content. These ads are commonly referred to as “banners” or “rectangles”.

I/O (Insertion Order) - A purchase order between a seller of mobile advertising and a buyer (usually an advertiser or its agency), either executed digitally or via hard copy.

Interactive VideoSSP's video ad unit. Interactive video ads include buttons within the ad unit that allow a consumer to take an action and engage with the brand (i.e., visit website, make a purchase, "like' on Facebook, etc.).

Interstitial Ads - full screen ads (video or static) that display over any of your application’s content. The best time to use Interstitial Ads is during a natural break in the application’s content, such as after completion of a level in a game. Within interstitial ad placements developers have the option to display interactive video ads. These ads often result in higher eCPM for developers.


Label - a term or many terms that can be assigned to a creative to categorize it. Use labels to search for a specific creative that you may want to reuse in the future.

Location-based targeting - Targeting based on location parameters, including lat/long (GPS-derived), zip code/post code, city, state, region, or country. Through these parameters, advertisers are able to execute hyper-local and local campaigns.


MRAID (Mobile Rich Media Ad Interface Definitions) - A common API specification for mobile rich media ads that will run in mobile apps. It is a standardized set of commands, designed to work with HTML5 and JavaScript, that developers creating rich media ads will use to communicate what those ads do (expand, resize, get access to device functionalities such as the accelerometer, etc.) with the apps they are being service into.


Native ad formats - A set of ad formats specifically suited to publisher content and content layout.  Native formats have evolved to include two very different families; unique native where the content structure and the content itself are unique and specific to a publisher and agency/advertiser, and

standard native where the structure is standard but the content and placement is unique to the publisher.


O&O - Owned and Operated


Pass Back Tag - JavaScript code that correspond to the publisher's mediation platform (often DFP). When an ad request goes unfilled on the Verizon Media platform, the pass back tag will direct said ad request to the upstream mediation solution, so it has an opportunity to be filled by another demand source.

Placement - the location where an advertisement is placed on a mobile website or inside an application. Effective ad placement ensures that the ads in your property are visible to the user. The ideal placement incorporates advertising without interfering with the user experience. This may be within the content, alongside the content, or between events of the content.

Private Exchange - A programmatic market where publishers select specific demand and put business rules in place for that demannd to access inventory that could be exclusive.

Programmatic Direct - A programmatic market between one publisher and one buyer where the deal is developed off-network or via automated workflow, formalized via a Deal ID, and then transacted programmatically. Programmatic direct combines the value of direct relationships with the superior targeting value of programmatic.

Programmatic Markets - Markets that leverage automated workflow, decisioning algorithms, and trading that can be configured in multiple ways (e.g. programmatic direct, private exchange, open exchange) to create value and efficiently operate at scale.


Rectangle Banner - is a full screen, 300x250 pixel ad that overlays your application's content. Available as static, animated or expandable (on iPad only).

Region Specific Targeting - targeting a specific Metro area within the United States.

Request - a request occurs when a user’s mobile phone browser or application requests an ad from the ad server, or a publisher system makes such a request on behalf of the user.

Retargeting - serving ads across digital and mobile platforms to consumers who have previously visited an advertiser’s desktop or mobile property.

Rich media - advertisements with which users can interact and/or take advantage of a device’s sensors (such as the accelerometer) within a mobile web page or application.

RPM (Revenue per thousand impressions) - the actual cost per thousand impressions garnered for the total requests received. RPM is calculated by dividing revenue by total ad requests, multiplied by 1000.

RTB (Real Time Bidding) - is bidding or buying mobile and digital ad impressions in a real-time auction.


SDK (Software Development Kit) - set of software development tools and code that enable publishers to create, monetize, and/or collect data from mobile apps.

Spend - The amount of money a bidder has spent on your inventory. (AKA - earnings).


Targeting - the ability for an advertiser to reach a specific audience of mobile consumers across operating systems, content channels, demographic segments, and countries.

Tier - an environment where you can activate ad sources for a given placement ID.

Transaction - when money is moved from one place to another. For example, money is transferred from a bank to your Verizon Media Self Serve Funds.


VAST (Video Ad Serving Template) - a standard for delivering video ads to a capable player. The ad markup is XML, which is then parsed by the player and displayed to the user. Key features include auto-play video and advanced tracking features. This standard is widely supported in mobile applications.

Verizon Ads SDK - This SDK provides functionality for monetizing both Android and iOS based applications. Use the SDK to easily integrate inline, interstitial, and native ads into an application.

Views - the number of times Verizon Media fills a request sent to our platform with an ad.


Wins - the number of bids (often bidder specific) that cleared or won an auction.

Win Rate - the percentage of time bids win (clear) an auction.